PDA

View Full Version : VF12 on EA82T?


tim_81coupe
Thu 8th December 2005, 07:36 PM
Just a random kind of question here, will a VF12 turbo off a 93 JDM Legacy bolt onto an otherwise standard EA82T? I think the turbo off these is a VF8, is that right? Will the computer hate the new turbine if it does get on there?

It's just I have a VF12 lying around....

LTurbo
Thu 8th December 2005, 08:25 PM
I would not mind knowing this either, my turbo is gonna pack it in some time.

Any other turbo's that are relatively easy to fit onto a ea82T?

Xtreme_RX
Thu 8th December 2005, 08:44 PM
No,
The EA82T's ran a VF2 or VF4.
The spacing on the x / power pipe side is different. The EA is smaller not by much just enough to have you make new base plate + the dump pipe is different too. :)

A VF12 is just a little big for a EA82T, 5000rpm you would be pulling good boost....... :roll:

LTurbo
Fri 9th December 2005, 09:26 AM
Would there be much difficulty attaching oil and coolant lines to somthing a bit smaller then (VF8?).

Xtreme_RX
Fri 9th December 2005, 10:13 AM
No not really it all goes in the same spot.
Just as i said on the previous post, the exhaust still wont match up you will need to get new plates made up to suit the VF8 turbo.

BlackMale
Fri 9th December 2005, 10:23 AM
:lol: Tim i like you random question.

Thanks Xtreme_RX i had kinda thought that.

BlackMale
Fri 9th December 2005, 10:24 AM
:lol: Tim i like you random question.

Thanks Xtreme_RX i had kinda thought that.... what about intercoolers? :roll: LOL

LTurbo
Fri 9th December 2005, 10:32 AM
Can anyone recommend the easiest turbo to make fit if I can't get my hands on a VF2 or 4?

BlackMale
Fri 9th December 2005, 10:34 AM
Have u been looking for a VF2 or 4?

Xtreme_RX
Fri 9th December 2005, 10:56 AM
I would recommend a VF10 of a EJ20G JDM Import turbo automatic Legacy GT. It has a good spool ratio. It not to big & not to small. It will give good low rpm boost but still give good high end power.

Intercoolers: EVERYBODY who has a turbo should have an IC fitted.
I have a GT Forester TMIC on my RX. It works well for 13Psi from a VF2.... :D

LTurbo
Fri 9th December 2005, 11:34 AM
Have u been looking for a VF2 or 4?

Yeah, half heartedly though. You said you may end up with an extra I could nab of you though.

Oversteer
Fri 9th December 2005, 12:41 PM
Are you sure yours is a VF12 Tim ?

I though it was only the Oz delivered cars that had a VF12, the JDM got a VF8 ...which is basically the same turbo....except the slightly updated design of the VF12.

V12 is laggy on a EJ20 !... so I wouldn`t put one on a EA82, VF10 is a much better choice.....but size difference to the factory VF2/4/6 is huge !

Wasn`t there a guy running a VF08 and VF10 on a fully built EA82 ?...somthing like 250+hp from the VF10.

The 10 would be worth a go....you just need to source a up pipe flange from a EJ20.......dump pipe falnges are easy to get hold of(WRX drivers upgrading exhausts etc)....I have 2 here that can be used.
It will make big power for a EA82..... but if your not going to(or the engine might not like it) pump 11+psi it wouldn`t be worth it.

OS

ToyRX
Fri 9th December 2005, 12:47 PM
Definitly go with either a VF8 (Series 1 RS Lib) or VF10 (Series 1 GT Lib) and just buy the exhaust plates off the wrecker at the same time then you just need to cut and weld them onto your existing up-pipe and exhaust (or go for the full system upgrade!!)
Also the EA82T turbos compresser housing exit is vertical and the VF8 or 10 are horozontal and point toward the center of the car. You can either unbolt and rotate the housing 90 deg or do the smart thing and hook up a TMIC at the same time using modified series 1 WRX gear or similar :D

LTurbo
Fri 9th December 2005, 01:28 PM
Definitly go with either a VF8 (Series 1 RS Lib) or VF10 (Series 1 GT Lib) and just buy the exhaust plates off the wrecker at the same time then you just need to cut and weld them onto your existing up-pipe and exhaust (or go for the full system upgrade!!)
Also the EA82T turbos compresser housing exit is vertical and the VF8 or 10 are horozontal and point toward the center of the car. You can either unbolt and rotate the housing 90 deg or do the smart thing and hook up a TMIC at the same time using modified series 1 WRX gear or similar :D

You sound like you have done this before? how did you go conecting oil lines up?

ToyRX
Fri 9th December 2005, 01:37 PM
haha - I have not completed the conversion but I was most of they way there (had all parts etc) then I brought the EJ20T Rally car and sold the EA82T 8)

If you use a VF8 or 10 the water and oil systems all line up ok from what I could see dryfitting the turbo, i think I was going to use a longer oil return pipe to make instilation easier as it is a right prick to get too but you need to make sure you do not get a low point in the pipe that will affect the oil from draining from the turbo, apparently they rely on gravity aiding the process but im not sure.

tim_81coupe
Fri 9th December 2005, 02:27 PM
Are you sure yours is a VF12 Tim ?

OK, on closer inspection it is a VF10. :oops:

It has the 90 degree outlet too.

Oversteer
Fri 9th December 2005, 02:57 PM
Ahh so your cut was a 93 JDM GT ....wagon ? was a manual cut right ? ;)

...get a factory up pipe and I can TIG the EA82 bottom section to the EJ top/flange ;)....whatever angle you want ;)

What size is your dump Jaffa ?...thye factory dumps are 2.25...if you want larger, or a bellmouth you`ll need to get the flange cut out...laser or plasma cutter type stuff, oxyaxe or angle grinder doesn`t work on SS.

OS

BlackMale
Fri 9th December 2005, 03:09 PM
What size is your dump Jaffa ?...thye factory dumps are 2.25...if you want larger, or a bellmouth you`ll need to get the flange cut out...laser or plasma cutter type stuff, oxyaxe or angle grinder doesn`t work on SS.OS

It was changed years ago when i got it and from memory 3" from turbo back :twisted: although i have since the conversion due to $$$ and roadworth issues cat back is 2.5" and is quiet as :oops: :cry:

IF and thats BIG IF we do this it will be cutting it fine, my feeling is that we may have to pass this time and swap later... i will be looking at TMIC next year so we could always do it then? What u think?
Gota jet (sorry)
L8a...

Oversteer
Fri 9th December 2005, 04:45 PM
....if you have a spare set of headers we could do the up pipe and IC setup on the engine stand..... mostlikely do the dump too(close enough ready for a flange to connect to the existing system.)

...I`ve been TIG welding for the last day or too, its all set-up and gassed up, doing the swap to a VF8 is a couple of hour job if we have everything ready.

We hope to do a Spec C Twinscroll swap onto a 04WRX in half a day or so this weekend...EGT guage and all.

Its up to you when your ready....all the bits you need that we havn`t got is up-pipe flange and a 3" dump(I can make, but I can`t cut the flange out from the factory 2.25" hole to accept the 3" pipe.)

IC Should be easy enuff, I have a forrester TMIC and the silicone pipwork to fit it to a EA82T...we can do a deal ;)


OS
http://members.iinet.net.au/~zrinski/dp1.jpg
http://members.iinet.net.au/~zrinski/dp2.jpg
http://members.iinet.net.au/~zrinski/dp3.jpg

PeeJay
Fri 9th December 2005, 09:36 PM
Is that wire the exhaust temp sensor?

Outback bloke
Sat 10th December 2005, 04:40 AM
Ahh so your cut was a 93 JDM GT ....wagon ? was a manual cut right ?

I was thinking the opposite. I have only ever seen one VF10 on a manual and I am of the belief that it was fitted later on. I have had myself and seen other manual front cuts that have all had VF8's on them.

My opinion is the 8 is too big for the EA82. The VF10 or a TD04 would be the go. I used to run a TD04 on mine and there is a fair bit of stuffing around to fit them. As already mentioned the compressor outlet is a different direction which doesn't sound like much of a problem if you are fitting an IC as you ahve to make custom piping any way.

What does cause troubles is your throttle cable. The outlet points directly towards where the cable runs. I had a lift kit in my car so bonnet clearance was no biggy. We simply made an exhaust extension that fitted the old up pipe and bolted straight on. The other end of it was made to fit the TD04.

I made a 3" mandrel dump for it that ran back as far as the back of the gearbox. The exhaust then dropped back to 2.5 inch.

Garret make a small turbo that I have seen on an EA82 but I can not remember what it was called. I was offered it to buy but at the time could not afford it. The business that had it is now closed down and I can't find out what it was.

LTurbo
Mon 12th December 2005, 10:43 AM
Garret make a small turbo that I have seen on an EA82 but I can not remember what it was called.
Does anyone one have an idea on what garret turbo this could have been?

Also I have been looking around and most of the small turbos seem to be water cooled only (not oil and water). Would it be 'okay' to just use the coolant lines and block off the oil lines close to the engine? Or is this going to cause more troubles.

BlackMale
Mon 12th December 2005, 04:24 PM
I am not an expert on this but it could be worth trying to score a good nice little jap import turbo from an ea82 less hassels that way.

BlackMale
Mon 12th December 2005, 05:28 PM
[quote="OversteerIC Should be easy enuff, I have a forrester TMIC and the silicone pipwork to fit it to a EA82T...we can do a deal ;) OS [/quote]

I am sure we could work out something :roll:
Should we start the...
A) drop around (and see you toys :roll: )
A) drop around (and see you toys :roll: )
Sorry i mean
B) PM thing
C) phone?

Thanks OS

mAJORD
Mon 26th December 2005, 10:22 AM
lost my password :roll: , its majjjord misus some j's

I could have sworn I had a Vf12, I cant quite read the stamp with the adapater plate fitted to the compressor but anyway, Ill pull it off some time and check, It is not that laggy at all on the EA82T import. maybe 1- 1.5sec of lag from cruise to full noise in the higher rpm, much less between gears. . It comes on hard by 3000-3500 grand depending on gear.

I spun the compressor housing around like on simons car (quickrxturbo) , heres some photos that might help anyone

http://www.users.on.net/~majord/upload/P1010018.JPG
http://www.users.on.net/~majord/upload/P1010019.JPG
http://www.users.on.net/~majord/upload/P1010020.JPG
http://www.users.on.net/~majord/upload/P1010021.JPG

NOte: the aluminimum adapter plate for spinning the outlet bend the right way around, also we cut and welded wastegate actuator bracket as with the housing spun around the holes wont line up, its a simple matter of cutting the bracket and rewelding it offset the right amount. one thing to be carefull of when doing this is making sure the arm still pulls the wastegat all thew ay closed when in default position

pic 21 shows the water pipe going underneath comes out in a similar place to the stock one, however its all metal.. no more split pipe under there. oil Feed landed prettymuch in the same place. oil return aswell.

BlackMale
Wed 28th December 2005, 11:09 AM
Thanks for the pix.

OS are you still there?

Oversteer
Wed 28th December 2005, 02:03 PM
Yeah mate I`m still around, whenever your ready drop around or ring or whatever.

OS

BlackMale
Wed 28th December 2005, 03:14 PM
No worries mate was just not entirely sure what you were up to.

I'll be in touch.